OFFICIAL: Tinubu Emerges 2023 APC Presidential Candidate

Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has emerged as presidential candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The former Lagos State governor was declared winner of the keenly contested primary election held at the Eagle Square in Abuja on Tuesday, June 7 and Wednesday, June 8, 2022.

He polled 1,271 votes to defeat a former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi who who came  a distant second with 316 votes.

Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo came third with 235 votes while Senate President, Ahmad Lawan got 152 votes.

Others are: Yahaya Bello-47 votes, David Umahi-38 votes, Ben Ayade-37 votes, Ahmad Rufai Sani-4 votes while Ogbonnaya Onu and Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba got a vote each.

Tunde Bakere, Rochas Okorocha, Tein Jack-Rich and Ikeobasi Mokelu got zero votes.

Nine aspirants had earlier pulled out of the race leaving Tinubu and 13 others to battle for the sole ticket of the party.

While former Senate President, Ken Nnaman withdrew without endorsing any aspirant, eight others threw their support behind Tinubu after withdrawing from the race.

Those that withdrew and endorsed Tinubu include, Robert A. Boroffice, Badaru Abubakar, Ibikunle Amosun, Godswill Akpabio, Kayode Fayemi, Nicholas Felix, Uju Ken-Ohanenye and Dimeji Bankole.

2,203 delegates from a total of 2,322 were accredited to vote while 13 ballots were voided.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *