Senate screens, confirms Goodluck, 6 other ministerial nominees

The Nigerian Senate on Wednesday at plenary, screened and confirmed seven ministerial nominees.

The names of the nominees were conveyed in letter sent to the Senate by President Muhammadu Buhari on June 21.

The President had in the letter requested for the confirmation of the ministerial nominees in accordance with the provisions of Section 147 subsection 2 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended.

During the screening and confirmation exercise on Wednesday, the Senate asked three of the nominees to take a bow and leave, while the other four answered questions from the lawmakers.

Goodluck Nana Opiah (Imo), Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub (Kano) and Ademola Adewole Adegoroye (Ondo) were the three nominees excused from taking questions from lawmakers because of their legislative background and experience, in line with the tradition of the Senate.

Those who responded to questions included Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh (Abia) Umana Okon Umana (Akwa Ibom), Ekumankama Joseph Nkama (Ebonyi) and Odum Odi (Rivers).

President of the Senate, in his remarks after the screening and confirmation, congratulated the ministerial designates on their confirmation by the Senate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *