Yobe North 2023: Lawan Loses Out as INEC Recognises Machina

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has affirmed Bashir Machina as the winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary election for the Yobe North Senatorial District.

A certified true copy of the Commission’s report from the May 28, 2022, election showed Machina scored 289 votes out of 300 delegates, corroborating the politician’s public claim that he won the primary and legally emerged candidate.

The document, certified by the electoral body on June 23, 2022, did not mention Ahmad Lawan, the Senate President who has been labouring to steal Machina’s mandate in collusion with the party’s national chairman Abdullahi Adamu.

Adamu had listed Lawan as the candidate of the APC for the Yobe North 2023 senatorial election, claiming that a primary held in which Lawan purportedly emerged winner.

Even though Machina has been certified winner by the electoral office, he still expects additional fights ahead when INEC will post candidates standing for election across different political parties in the coming weeks.

INEC had said it lacked the powers to pick a candidate in an election, even though its authentication was necessary to certify that an election held.

Lawan started making attempts to seize the ticket from Machina after losing at the ruling party’s presidential primary, which was won handily by Bola Tinubu on June 8.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *